Posted by: wordofexcellence | December 27, 2012

As we end the year, I muse

I’m saddened this holiday season by what has taken place in my home state, Connecticut. Twenty-six lives taken…snatched away by a deranged (it appears) young man with a load of weaponry.

It’s not just a tragedy…it’s a travesty that this can take place in a civilized society – in a school – an elementary school, at that. Where is innocence most evident than in a school of kindergarten through fourth or fifth grade?

I’m sick of reading about this horrible crime. I want to scream, yet I know it’s far more important to be silent, to grieve in my own way (our own ways) for the children and their mentors who have gone on to Glory. Yes, I do believe that’s where they dwell now, having arrived earlier than the rest of us.

Every December – about this time of the month – we are reminded of all the deaths of the famous. Tributes are written, tears are shed and then we all move on.

This December, in this year of 2012, the names I want to remember fondly are these: Ana Marquez-Greene, Dylan Hockley, Charlotte Bacon, Olivia Engel, Caroline Previdi, Benjamin Wheeler, Noah Pozner, Allison Wyatt, Avielle Richman, Jessica Rekos, James Mattioli, Madeleine Hsu, Jack Pinto,  Catherine Hubbard, Jesse Lewis…each one 6 years of age. Daniel Barden, Josephine Gay, Chase Kowalski, Grace McDonnell, Chase Kowalski…each of these 7 years of age.

My son, Caleb, is 7. My grandson, Colin, is 7.

The adults – Dawn Hochsprung, 47; Victoria Soto, 27; Mary Sherlach, 56; Anne Marie Murphy, 52; Lauren Rousseau, 30; Rachel Davino, 29;  Nancy Lanza, 52 – these are young people.

Yes, we lost a lot of our old favorites this year, too. And guess what – you’ll be able to read about them in USA Today, the New York Times, and news media all across the country. You’ll remember their exploits, their impact on your own lives (mine, too).

What these 20 children can never leave behind them is the impact that their adulthood would have had on our society. They can never forge ahead with inventions, with new music or colossal numbers of home runs. We will miss them, whether we knew them or not. We will mourn, despite their being strangers in our midst. We will celebrate the lives they led, though those lives were short.

Now do I love my son any more than I did a couple of weeks ago? No, I do not. I continue to be astounded by him, and I love him dearly just as I did before he burst forth from his mother’s womb.

As a finale to this somewhat morbid message, I wish to pass along what I found on the counter earlier this evening. Caleb was encouraged by his teacher to write about Christmas, and he followed through. What follows here is straight from his heart, and it brought a tear to my eye (as he is usually capable of doing).

Please enjoy the mastery of my darling son:

“The best thing about Christmas is when you get presents and spend time with your family. The best thing is when you get books so you can learn, read and spell more words. I love Christmas very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very ,very much. Do you? Because if you don’t love or like Christmas you don’t like Jesus. But I love Jesus. Do you? I thought so.”

I know that I show my pride quite clearly. But I’m so abundantly blessed to have a child such as this, one who understands and recognizes the good things in life, and who appreciates these things as well as as his family and friends.

All I can end up with here is to say “thank you” and tip my hat to my darling boy, Caleb.

Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

