Posted by: wordofexcellence | March 31, 2011

Cindy Crawford’s Mole

I got an email today from the address, “Meaningful Beauty” with a subject line of “Get Cindy Crawford’s Ageless Look.”

It was SPAM, of course, so I didn’t open it. However, I had a couple of thoughts about this email. First of all, I thought that “meaningful beauty” is a lovely phrase, and that I’d like to be able to use it somewhere in my writing.

I also considered that I hadn’t heard anything about Cindy Crawford in quite some time, and I’m wondering if that mole (THAT MOLE!) is still as evident as always. It gave her such a unique look and actually added to her beauty. Most people, I believe, are afraid to show their blemishes – or at least it’s how they look at them – and that includes all sorts of lifestyle blemishes, body parts, etc.

Cindy has the kind of “go ahead and check it out because I think it’s just fine” look that she gives the camera. It tells you that she’s confident in her beauty and her bearing, and that’s to be admired.

The rest of us cover up our zits with Clearasil (I’m not getting paid for the plug!) and run out of the house hoping that nobody will notice. It makes me wonder why we don’t have a better eye on reality than to think that others won’t see what we spotted this morning in the mirror.

In college, I knew a guy named Alan who used to (get this!) sandpaper his face to try to get rid of his pimples. Is there any wonder that his nickname was “Zitman”? He never expressed any dissatisfaction with either the method of acne removal or the nickname, and if I could actually recall his real name, I’d leave it out anyway.

Leave a Reply

Categories

