Posted by: wordofexcellence | March 29, 2011

Hello world!

Here it is, April 4 (a dreadful day so many years ago when Martin Luther King was assassinated), and I’m reading my blog to my son, who’s sitting on my lap here in front of my desktop.

I have only just realized that nobody who doesn’t already know me has no idea whose blog this is!  So I suppose now is as good a time as any to introduce myself formally and let the world know who this scribe really is.

My name is George Malcolm Akerley. I live in Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA, and I’m married to Valeriana Pearl Akerley. Together we have a delightfully brilliant son named Caleb Alexander Akerley, who is 5.  You will, if you take the time to read things on here, learn lots more about the youngster.  He is truly a blessing to us, and he’s exceptional.

So…why in the world do I have a blog all of a sudden? Well, here’s the gist of it.  I’m a writer (wow…news, huh?). I’ve been writing since I was 9 years old, when I had an article published in The Middletown Press, where I grew up.  It was a story about the basketball team we had in fourth grade.  Since that day, I’ve written – poems, memos, business manuals, even a business newsletter that I edited. 

Here, I am attempting to be a blessing to others – to give insight where possible, to provide a touch of humor on occasion, and to express the deep need to write.  Making a few dollars on the side wouldn’t hurt the budget, either.

Please tolerate me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

